top of page
  • 7mononoke

Anime 2022 Episode Reviews: Week #9

Welcome, everyone! Today we'll jump right into the episode reviews!



 

Shadows House: Season 1 Episode 9


I loved the suspense toward the end of the episode with Emilyko rescuing Kate. For her own part, Kate did very well handling things, too. She's learned a lot about cooperation and determination, and she loves Emilyko even more than before. I can see what dilemmas this anime is starting to set up with some of the characters. Ricky is attracted to Lou. It's also possible that Patrick might form feelings for Emilyko, although that seems rather absurd. But as much as I love these characters' interactions, I also want to know more answers to the mysteries of Shadows House.


We were given two important reveals during this episode. One was right at the beginning. Eventually, a shadow and its doll become one being. It seems that the consciousness of the doll does not survive. Dolls are meant to be temporary, until they can be used as vessels by the shadow masters. The other reveal was minor: the fact that a complete shadow-doll being will sometimes show its old face if the master is agitated. This leaves hope that some dolls' consciousnesses might still be present within. Or at least, that's how I read it. I'm not sure at all. I'm hoping for some more big secrets in the last 4 episodes!



 

Spy X Family: Episode 9


While I did enjoy some of this episode, it was difficult to continue dealing with Yuri and his incestuous sister complex. It's so gross. I really want someone to make him stop being such a creep. Besides Yuri being insane, the rest of the episode was nice to watch. Yor is adorable, and her fighting capabilities are amazing. That's about all I have to say for now.



 

Summertime Render: Episode 9


The shadow of Shiori and the brief appearance of the shadows-mother were both extremely unsettling. This anime does a great job with being creepy. I couldn't believe that shadows-mother could interfere in memories. It's awesome! It was also pretty amazing and fun to see the two Ushio's working together. Shadow-Ushio has some epic powers. It was sad that she couldn't defeat Shiori's shadow in the water. Truly a tragedy. But with a "good" shadow working with them, Shinpei and company might have better luck with their goal of saving everyone. Let's hope this loop continues to go well and we keep learning more.



 

Tokyo 24th Ward: Episode 9


This was mostly a flashback episode showing the backstory of Gori and Kanae. Their story, and this anime in general, shows the theme of putting too much faith in technology. I'm kind of sick of this theme, to be honest. I wish there were more shows about how good technology is. But I can't really argue that it wasn't wrong to use Asumi's brain and body for the completion of the Kanae System.


In other news, this episode also showed us a lot about 0th. (I think his name is really stupid.) It's interesting that his art career started after a head injury. I think it's admirable to want to use art to bring positive change, but I'm not sure what it looks like in practical reality. It seems to me that all 0th has been doing is painting random graffiti. I really don't think that's going to change anything. Still, he's a mildly interesting character.



 

Hoshi no Samidare (Lucifer and The Biscuit Hammer): Episode 9

This episode was all about the "Shishou," the centuries-old man who eventually became the swordfish knight. His story was kind of stupid, if I'm being honest. Apparently, there's an omniscient god in this world, and Shishou had a connection to that god for many years. In all that time, all he did was raise a few apprentices, and mostly just taught them how to fight. That's it?! He had literally all the knowledge in the universe, and he did basically nothing to change the world.


Anyway, beyond just the stupidity of Shishou, this anime is starting to annoy me in general. It's poorly written and poorly animated. However, I'll keep watching to the end. There have been some things I've enjoyed, and I'm sure there will continue to be some of those elements.



 

The Devil is a Part-timer! Season 2: Episode 9

After a passing vehicle scared the bear, it charged toward the people in the field. Emilia fought the bear and protected everyone. That was only the start of this super fun episode. Emi, Mao, and everyone also worked together to stop a group of produce thieves from robbing the farm. There were a lot of funny moments, and a few serious ones. Mao seems to understand that he needs to make amends for ruining so many lives in his war on Ente Isle. There were some very cool Mao moments, including one scene of him in full demon form. The only bad thing about this episode was the tropey and unnecessary "accidental boob grab" with Mao and Suzuno. Other than that stupid event, it was a great episode!



 

Sasaki and Miyano: Episode 9

I was kind of hoping Miyano would tell Sasaki that he likes him, and that the two could be a couple for the last few episodes. But that didn't happen, and now I think it's unlikely to happen until the final episode. Besides a small degree of disappointment, I enjoyed this installment. Sasaki is oddly cute when sick. Miyano was also very cute as usual. I'm glad he stated that he wouldn't drop out of the crossdressing contest. It's important to be assertive. I'm hoping for more cuteness and healing energy next week!



 

Mob Psycho 100: Season 3 Episode 2


A real yokai hunter comes to Seasoning City to hunt down a group of evil yokai called the Hyakki. He enlists the help of Reigen, Serizawa, and Mob. But there's a lot on Mob's mind as he thinks about the upcoming culture festival at school. This episode had a lot of humor that I enjoyed. I felt bad for Mob because he was the only one in his assigned group who cared about making the haunted house for the festival. It reminded me of college days when nobody in my group would do their share of work. But in the end, Mob was able to pull it off for a good result. He's such a good kid. This was a nice episode.



 

Thanks For Reading~

2 views0 comments
bottom of page