top of page
  • 7mononoke

Bloganuary - January Blog Challenge - Day 14: Travel



The prompt for today is "What is your preferred mode of travel?" Assuming I'm understanding it correctly, this seems like a stupid question. The question implies that 1) you are able to travel, and 2) you are able to choose your mode of travel. As for me, I don't have the money or mental health to travel very much. I'm over 30 and have never been on a commercial plane. I've never left my country and would have to save up if I wanted a passport and vaccines. I can hardly travel at all due to anxiety and poverty.


That being said, I am planning to take a trip next month - my first trip in about 5 years. I've saved up for it and I'm excited. So although I can only do this every couple of years, and there's no guarantee my mental health will hold up, I guess I can travel. However, I still think this prompt is a little ableist, to be honest. Plenty of people are worse off than me and can't travel at all.


Now the main question for today is what mode of travel you use. Again, this assumes you have some kind of choice. I'm going by plane next month because there's no way my 21-year old used car can make the road trip. I have no preference of travel because I've never had a choice. Sorry if my answer for today's prompt is a little grumpy. But I don't really know what else to say. Well, everyone try and enjoy the weekend, especially if the weather is nice!


Thanks for reading~

7 views0 comments
bottom of page