top of page
  • 7mononoke

Winter 2023 Episode Reviews: Week #1

Hello and thanks for stopping Mono's Anime Rants! Today, I'm starting my post series of weekly episode reviews for Winter 2023 anime. I chose six series. If I hate one of them, I might drop it. I also might pick up just one more if I feel inspired enough. Anyway, not all of them have aired their first episode yet. But here are the episode reviews for the ones who already began airing! Enjoy.



 

Bungou Stray Dogs 4th Season: Episode 1


Despite the off-putting monochrome visual style, the first episode of the new season was quite engaging. This season is going to be about the character history of Fukuzawa (the leader of the detective agency) and young Ranpo Edogawa. The 14 year-old boy already solved one murder, coincidentally meeting Fukuzawa during the unofficial "case." Fukuzawa is working as a private bodyguard currently. Thinking that Ranpo has a special ability to discern truth, Fukuzawa enlists his help in protecting a theater after someone threatened to kill the performers. It was a great start to the season, but I hope the entire thing won't be in monochrome. Also, the surprise appearance of young Oda was a treat.


(Ranpo Edogawa)
 

Koori Zokusei Danshi to Cool na Douryou Joshi

(Ice Guy and His Cool Female Colleague): Episode 1


I wanted to check out this show because of the adult cast. I thought it would be easier to relate to the characters; plus, mixing in yokai powers sounded fun. As soon as I heard the opening narration of the show, I knew I would like it. Why? Because the one doing the narration, the voice of Fuyutsuki, is Yui Ishikawa. She's one of my favorite seiyuus ever. But even without that hook to draw me in, I think this anime would still have been entertaining. After alll, the first episode was absolutely wonderful. It looks nice, the colors are perfect, and the music is pleasant. The characters are great too. Besides Fuyutsuki and Himuro, I also like the fox girl, Komori. I feel like there's going to be a lot to enjoy in this anime.


(Miss Fuyutsuki is voiced by Yui Ishikawa)
 

Mononogatari: Malevolent Spirits: N/A


Not Yet Aired. This anime is slated to begin airing on January 10th, 2023.



 

Nokemono-tachi no Yoru (Tale of Outcasts): N/A


Not Yet Aired. This anime is slated to begin airing on January 8th, 2023.



 

TenTen Kakumei: Episode 1


Note: The actual title of this anime is Tensei Oujo to Tensai Reijou no Mahou Kakumei (The Magical Revolution of the Reincarnated Princess and the Genius Young Lady). TenTen Kakumei is shorthand.


I've always been interested in shoujo ai, so I wanted to try this anime as soon as I heard about it. As a queer person myself, I love a good queer love story. I'm not sure if this anime is going to keep the gay love element vague, or if they will actually flush it out and normalize it. My expectations are low, but I'm willing to try out this show. The first episode was excellent in terms of introducing the story and the main characters. I like Anis and Euphie. The ending of the episode was super gay and I absolutely loved it. However, the visuals for this anime don't look so good. They are simple and very low budget. This isn't a deal-breaker for me, but it's a bit disappointing.


(Lady Euphilia Magenta)
 

Vinland Saga Season 2: N/A


Not Yet Aired. This anime is slated to begin airing on January 10th, 2023.



 

Thank you for reading~


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page