top of page
  • 7mononoke

Anime 2022 Episode Reviews: Week #15

Hello, and thanks for stopping by. We're continuing today with episode reviews from six anime series from the year 2022. I finally caught up to where I should be after an unexpected month-long break from blogging. However, I'm still expecting this blog series to be about 25 weeks, and it will definitely spill over into 2023. With all that out of the way, let's respond to some awesome anime.

 

Shadows House: Season 2 Episode 2


I absolutely loved this episode of Shadows House, but in a quite sober way. The anime is all about indoctrination and the characters who wish to be free from it. This episode in particular focused on that theme. Watching the rejoicing ceremony was eerie. It was like being back in church. I really relate to being trapped and brainwashed.


Anyway, things have gotten more difficult for Kate and Emilico. They did manage to make John and Shaun their allies, but Ricky and Lou have been re-indoctrinated completely. Plus, we don't know how long Shaun and Emilico can get away with faking. As for the starbearers, I'm not quite as interested in them, but I enjoyed seeing the history between Maryrose and Barabara. I look forward to seeing what the fuss is about concerning the former leader of the starbearer team.


(Brainwashed children)

 

Spy X Family: Episode 15 (2nd Cour Episode 3)


As usual, I had fun watching this installment of Spy x Family. The incident with the terrorist Keith was resolved, and nobody died-- not even the dog that attacked Loid. Speaking of dogs, the fluffy white one was adopted by the Forgers at the insistence of Anya. The next day, after school and an adventure at the dog park, Anya finally gave the dog a name: Bond. The Forger family has grown again. It's so fun to watch their wholesome moments and wild adventures. Also, I keep forgetting to say this, but the lady that Loid calls "Handler" is drop-dead gorgeous. I love it whenever she's on screen.


(Anya and Bond having fun)

 

Summertime Render: Episode 15


Fifteen episodes in, and this show continues to impress me every time. I was on the edge of my seat for this episode, watching Shinpei and company fight for their futures against Haine and the shadows. Everything looked gorgeous and the movement was smooth. There is some plot armor for Shinpei and Ushio, but I don't think it's too much. It's still believable for the most part. All the humans and Ushio survived the battle, but so did Haine and Shide, albeit damaged. I look forward to what happens next, and I'm thrilled that Shadow-Mio will be on the good side. Ushio looks very cute with short hair, but I couldn't manage to get a good screenshot of it. Have one of Ushio pre-haircut, I guess.


(Ushio in the burning gymnasium)

 

Hoshi no Samidare

(Lucifer and The Biscuit Hammer): Episode 15


This episode felt bland. I didn't enjoy it, but I also didn't get annoyed at it for being a poorly made anime. It was just "meh" this time. Of course, the visuals were bad as usual, and the writing was kind of cringe in places. I do like the music in this anime, but the theme for fighting the golems is overused. The soundtrack needs more variety. Most of episode 15 focused on Mikazuki and his history with trying to be a strong fighter like his older brother. Given the pattern of character deaths so far, it's possible that Mikazuki is going to die next. At any rate, there are only three golems left to fight, and then Animus himself.


(I liked the lighting in this shot of Mikazuki)

 

Mob Psycho 100: Season 3 Episode 8


Apparently I'm an even bigger softie than I knew, because this episode of Mob Psycho 100 made the lump rise in my throat and the tears well up in my eyes. It was so wholesome and fulfilling to see Kurata and the boys make such good memories together and have such a fun adventure. Considering how bizarre this anime can be, I wasn't remotely surprised that real aliens appeared in the last third of the episode. But I was a little surprised at how cute-looking they were. The ending of the episode that briefly showed Inukawa's time with the aliens was pretty funny. I assume he got back to his home in one piece, but it isn't super clear, nor do I get the idea we're supposed to take it seriously. Anyway, lovely episode.


(Adorable aliens!)

 

Chainsaw Man: Episode 3


This was an awesome episode with a lot of good action, good music, and good scenes that let us get to know the characters. As much as I did enjoy episode 3, I must say I'm slightly let down by the series so far. It's still good, but it's not nearly as serious as I had hoped from the first episode, what with an idiotic and endlessly horny teenager for a main character. Denji's a good kid and hasn't done anything that violates a woman's autonomy. That's not the issue. It's just that he's so childish and the gag is repeated so many times that I cannot take this anime very seriously anymore. But you know what? It doesn't have to be serious. It can be both stupid and enjoyable.


I do still have hope that the other characters and the main narrative won't be as goofy as Denji himself. I still love Power, even though she's a complete monster. She's psychologically fascinating and, in some abstract ways, relatable to me. I hope she didn't really die. Makima is extremely intriguing to me in a different way. So there's still a lot to look forward to. Also, kudos to the creators for making such a scary demon this time. The last one was unimpressive. This one was ugly as all hell. Great design.


(Losing your pet is a miserable feeling)

 

Thanks for reading~



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page