top of page
  • 7mononoke

Anime 2022 Episode Reviews: Week #8

Hello all, and welcome to Mono's Anime Rants. In this post series, I have selected 8 different recent anime series to write about. They are all from across 2022, with the exception of Shadows House season one, which aired in 2021. The purpose of these posts is to make myself watch a selection of recent anime and then write reviews and rants about them when I have completed them.


In the previous post, I finished writing about Tomodachi Game, a Spring 2022 show. Because of that, there was a slot open to include a new Fall 2022 series. I chose Mob Psycho 100 season 3, since I've seen and enjoyed both prior seasons. Now then, let's get started with these episode reviews!



 

Shadows House: Season 1 Episode 8


The debut test is still going on. I had trouble focusing on this episode, so I might have missed some things. In particular, I don’t understand what happened to Edward at the end. It looked like he turned into a shadow master. I’ll have to wait for the show to explain. Other than that, I enjoyed the episode.


It was sad to hear about Ram’s story with her master, but perhaps things will improve for her. I really like Emilyko and how she always helps others. I absolutely hate Louise and I’m going to feel bad if Lou ever realizes she’s not the thing that her master truly loves. Louise only loves herself, and she sees Lou as an extension of herself. The three dolls at the end, including Edward, seem to be special judges. There is some kind of hierarchy where they try to win the love of the Great Grandfather. It sounds interesting. I’m more than willing to keep watching and learning.



 

Spy X Family: Episode 8


Yuri is Yor's younger brother and a member of the secret police who are the enemies of Twilight. When Yuri comes over to see Yor and Loid, everyone is in for a tense time of lying, as they all hide their identities from each other. There were a lot of funny moments and some serious ones. Compared to past episodes, there wasn't as much content with Anya in it, but I don't mind. I thought Yuri was an interesting character, and a great source of comedy. Also, I can't wait to find out if Loid and Yor will really kiss. Good episode.



 

Summertime Render: Episode 8


This episode has a relatively a relatively high amount of humor and funny animated reactions. It was mostly a nice thing in my opinion. The brief action scene was riveting. I'm glad Ryunosuke/Hizuru didn't insist on killing shadow-Ushio. I wonder why shadow-Ushio is able to time-leap with Shinpei. I also wonder how the original Ushio knew that the shadows were going to attack at the festival. She sent Hizuru that message. Anyway, Summertime Rendering continues to be interesting, exciting, and entertaining. There are still so many mysteries.



 

Tokyo 24th Ward: Episode 8


A hell of a lot of information was revealed in this episode, including the fact that Asumi's consciousness is alive in the Kanae system, and the fact that Carneadas was actually Tsuzuragawa. There was some intensity and some good action in this chapter as well. I enjoyed it. There's still a good deal I'm not clear on with regards to the plot, but I can figure it out if I think it through and re-watch this episode. I'm unexpectedly and positively surprised by this installment with all the new reveals and action. I'm excited for next time!



 

Hoshi no Samidare (Lucifer and the Biscuit Hammer): Episode 8


I was under the impression that Sami and the ten knights were going to start a war of sorts right away. However, most of the time in this episode was spent on showing the backstories of Hakudo, Nagumo, and Hyo. I found myself annoyed as a watched. The bad visuals bother me, and the writing is often stupid. The characters are pretty shallow. And the scene transitions are terrible.


The only thing that was really good in this episode was the music. I did really like Hyo and his character's concept and desires, but nothing about him was executed well. It was all too rushed and in-your-face. This episode also tried to give us some understanding of Animus and his motivations, but I still don't get it, for the most part. Everything was very unclear.



 

The Devil is a Part-timer! Season 2: Episode 8


Mao and company got hired to work for a few days on a farm. Emi and Suzuno followed them and also started working on the farm, too. The episode ends with several of the part-timers encountering a bear in the fields. It's a bit of a cliffhanger. This episode was very enjoyable for me. Besides the bear at the end, it was a very calming episode. I loved all the farm and crops scenery since it reminds me of gardening. I also think it's interesting that Mao seems to be starting to regret some things he did as Demon Lord, like burn Emilia's home farm.



 

Sasaki and Miyano: Episode 8


I thoroughly enjoyed this episode. We got some good comedy moments, and we got to see Miyano and other boys cross-dressing. It was neat. And finally, at long last, Miyano seems to have realized that he likes Sasaki back. There was a little bit of negative energy with Sasaki being a little bit pushy and possessive at one point. But considering all he did was hug Miyano, I think it's alright. I liked that his thoughts were things like, "He's so cute," "I want to take care of him," and not the traditional seme thoughts like "I want to destroy him," or "I want to dominate him." Anyway, it was another cute and romantic episode of Sasaki and Miyano.



 

Mob Psycho 100: Season 3 Episode 1


It was a fun first episode of the new season of Mob Psycho. Serizawa is now working at the clinic for Reigen. Mob and Serizawa cast exorcised two different spirits in this episode. But the heart of the episode was about Mob's uncertainty about the future, since he's been given a future goals sheet to fill out in school. Mob doesn't arrive at an answer yet for what he wants to do, but talking to Reigen helps put his mind at ease. I love how meaningful this show can be in simple ways. The absurd humor was great as always, too.



 

Thanks for reading~

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page